Skip to main content

Education & Teaching: Teaching Resources Collection

A Library Services subject guide

What is the Teaching Resources Collection?

The Teaching Resources Collection, or TRC, is one of the Library's special collections (for others see the Specials Collections tab above) and we are proud to be able to say that it is one of the best of its kind in the country.  Close to the Library entrance, the TRC is home to around 24,000 resources for primary and secondary trainee teachers, students intending to work (or already working) in educational settings, and students of children's literature.  That said, all BGU students are welcome to make use of the facility and it is open all of the hours that the Library is open. 

The space is split into two areas - teachers' resources on the left and children's resources on the right.  The overall design is intended to facilitate browsing, quiet study and group discussion.

About TRC Resources

Children's Resources

Our collection of Children's Resources include picture books, fiction and non-fiction books, big books (fiction and non-fiction), dual language books, feature films, audiobooks, resource packs, artefact boxes, novelty books, puppets, Storysacks® and journals. At its heart  is an extensive collection of classic and contemporary children's literature. All major authors and illustrators are represented, demonstrating the development of children's literature over many decades. Though the emphasis is on British literature there is a good selection of American fiction, world fiction and books translated into English from other languages. Poetry books and fairy tales also feature.

Teachers' Resources

Our collection of Teachers' Resources supports teachers and trainee teachers in developing lesson plans and teaching strategies to implement the National Curriculum. The collection includes National Curriculum documents, government reports, reading and phonic schemes, educational textbooks, teaching handbooks and lesson planning guides. All of the teachers' resources are for reference only, allowing students to compare and contrast different educational materials.  

How Children's Resources are Shelved

All of the children's resources in the TRC are shelved using the Dewey Decimal Classification System.  Below is a summary of the main Dewey classes:

  General classes       Subject                                          Fiction classes        Subject
  000 General Subjects 813 North American Fiction
  100 Philosophy 821 Poetry
  200 Religion 821.08 Collected Poems
  300 Social Sciences 821.3 Nursery Rhymes
  400 Languages 822 Plays
  500 Science 823 UK Fiction
  600 Technology 823.01 Early Readers
  700 The Arts 823.08 Collected Stories
  800 Literature 828 Treasuries
  900 History and Geography 833 German Fiction
      839 Scandinavian Fiction
      843 French Fiction
      896 African FIction
      899 Australian FIction


The following example shows how a book about the First World War would normally be classified using Dewey:

900 = History and Geography
940 = History of Europe
940.3 = The First World War
Books about the First World War are therefore located at shelfmark 940.3.

The shelfmarks of novels by specific writers are always followed by the first three letters of their surname, for example 823 ROW for J.K. Rowling or 813 COL for Suzanne Collins. 

The following example shows how a book by Michael Morpurgo would normally be classified using Dewey:
800 = Literature
820 = English Literature
823 = English Fiction
Books by Michael Morpurgo are therefore located at shelfmark 823 MOR.

Dewey shelfmarks are arranged in strict numerical order, so 940.3 comes before 940.7, which comes before 950.1, and so on.

Each item’s shelfmark is displayed in its WorldCat record.

How Teachers' Resources are Shelved

All of the teachers' resources in the TRC are shelved using the same Bliss Classification System that is used everywhere else in the Library (except for the Children's Resources section of the TRC).  Below is a summary of the main Bliss classes used in the TRC.  Note that all shelfmarks start with a number 9:

  Classes        Subject
  9AM Mathematics
  9AZ Science
  9DQ Geography
  9HJ Physical Education
  9JBQ English as an Additional Language (EAL)
  9JEI Learning Styles
  9JGJ Special Educational Needs
  9JUIC Computing
  9JIXT Media Studies
  9JJ Curriculum Documents
  9JKA Literacy
  9JKD Writing
  9JKDE Phonics
  9JKY Design & Technology
  9JLH Early Years
  9LG History
  9PXQ Religion
  9VK Art & Design
  9VWK Music
  9X Foreign Languages
  9Y English
  9YAD Spelling
  9YAN Grammar
  9YW Poetry
  9YX Drama
  9ZDW Children's Literature

 

Each item’s shelfmark is displayed in its WorldCat record.

Children's Book Prizes

There are many book prizes and awards for children's literature. The winning and shortlisted books for such awards are always of the highest quality and reading them is a good way to increase your knowledge of children's books in general. Prize lists are also a good place to start if you want to find out about books published in previous decades.

The lists below have been compiled by  Janice  and show the winners of all of the major children's literature prizes for each given year. All of the books are available to borrow from the Teaching resources Collection.

Gallery

Finding and borrowing TRC resources

All materials in the TRC are searchable via WorldCat; by clicking into an item record you can see where in the Library a resource is kept, and how long you can borrow it for, by looking in the Location column.  For example, children's novels have the location Main Library Teaching Resources Collection: Children's Resources - 12 Week Loan.

All teachers' resources are for reference only and have red spine labels (items at secondary level also have a black spine label).  Teachers' resources are shelved using the same Bliss classification scheme used in the rest of the Library, however TRC shelfmarks always start with number 9, so if you find a resource on WorldCat and the shelfmark starts with a number 9 you know to look for it in the TRC. 

Except for Storysacks®, which cannot be borrowed, and DVDs and artefact boxes, which can be borrowed for 3 weeks at a time, all children's resources can be borrowed for 12 weeks at a time.  Most children's books have a  green spine label with the exception of teenage fiction books which have a white spine label and picture books which have a yellow spine label (big books have a green label if they are non-fiction and a yellow label if they are fiction). Children's resources are shelved using the Dewey Decimal classification scheme used in many school libraries; see below for more about Dewey.

Non-book materials

All of the following non-book materials are kept in the Show & Tell area of the TRC.

Our comprehensive collection of audiobooks and film adaptations of children's books can be borrowed for 3 weeks at a time.

Our popular collection of Storysacks® is for reference only.  However, all of our hand puppets and finger puppets can be borrowed for 12 weeks at a time.

All artefact boxes and resource packs can be borrowed for 12 weeks at a time.

Picture, big and novelty books

Our comprehensive collection of picture books is located at the far end of the TRC.  The books have yellow spine labels and are shelved in alphabetical order by the authors' surname.  The spine labels display the first three letters of the author's surname.

In the Show & Tell area you will find big (oversized) books and novelty books.  Big picture books are shelved the same way as standard picture books; with yellow spine labels and in alphabetical order by author.  Big non-fiction books have green spine labels and are shelved by their Dewey shelfmark. Novelty books (tactile, pop-up etc) are normally kept in zipper bags and are shelved A-Z by the first three letters of the author's surname.

All picture, big and novelty books can be borrowed for 12 weeks at a time.

Image attribution

All images ©Bishop Grosseteste University.