Skip to main content

Education & Teaching: Home

A Library Services subject guide

Welcome

Hello Education & Teaching students! 

This subject guide has been created for you if you are studying an education or teaching-related programme at Bishop Grosseteste University: Education Studies, Early Childhood Studies, Special Education Needs & Inclusion, Applied Studies, Primary Teaching Studies, PGCE Primary or PGCE Secondary.  It may also be of use to those of you studying with us on higher degrees.

We hope you find these pages useful; if you have any suggestions as to how they could be improved, or if you just have a question, please get in touch by clicking on the Email Me links on the right.  See below for more information about which of us to contact for your subject.

Rose Roberto, BA MLIS PhD
Subject Liaison Librarian for all Initial Teacher Training programmes

Susan Rodda, BA MSc (Econ)
Subject Liaison Librarian for Education Studies, SENI

Nial Halford-Busby, BA (Hons) MA
Subject Liaison Librarian for Professional Studies

New books

Online Resources

Finding Education Documents

The Document Summary Service is a really useful current awareness tool for education and ITE students published by the Graduate School of Education at the University of Bristol, who each month release a series of documents summarising key changes to UK educational policy.

BGU students and staff are permitted to use the summaries for educational purposes but are not permitted to share them with third parties. To view the current month's summaries click here. An access code is required and is available from the Library's Blackboard site under Password Protected Resources. Previous summaries can be viewed via the Archive button.

Finding Education Documents in the Library

The Library has printed documents relating to the development of education past and present, including reports, official papers, Acts of Parliament and curriculum documents. All are searchable via WorldCat.

Current curriculum policies and official documents are located in the curriculum section of the Teaching Resources Collection (TRC).  In our Stores we have documents relating to previous versions of the National Curriculum (also searchable via WorldCat).

Finding Documents Online

GOV.UK is the main hub for government information and includes links to all government departments. Searches can be filtered by organization; services & information; departments; and policy and publications.

The Digital Education Resource Archive (DERA) from the Institute of Education is a digital archive of documents published electronically by government and other relevant bodies in the areas of education, training, children and families.

The website Education in England: A Brief History of Our Schools has the full texts of more than 420 important documents, including reports, official papers and Acts of Parliament.

Education Studies Liaison Librarian

Susan Rodda, BA MSc (Econ)'s picture
Susan Rodda, BA MSc (Econ)

Professional Studies Liaison Librarian