As a BGU doctoral student you have access not only to BGU library but also to the University of Leicester's Library. You will learn more about this at the start of your doctoral journey. You are also eligible to join the SCONUL access scheme to access other university libraries around the country.
Borrowing
As a doctoral research student you can borrow up to 35 items from our Library at any one time. Loans auto-renew unless they have been requested by another borrower and we do not charge library fines for late returns. More information about borrowing can be found here.
Our subject LibGuides provide overviews of resources for each subject area. You can access these here.
Our databases provide a large selection of peer-reviewed content. Many of these are searchable via WorldCat, or you can access each database individually from our A-Z Databases site.
Our A-Z Databases site also contains a broad range of open access resources and tools that are great for research, including platforms such as Project Gutenberg (older books), the Directory of Open Access Books (contemporary books), CORE (research articles), the Directory of Open Access Journals (contemporary journals), EThOS (theses), The Bielefield Academic Search Engine (BASE, research articles) Europe PubMed Central (life sciences literature) and Open Access Theses and Dissertations. To filter open access resources on the A-Z Databases site click on All Database Types and select Open Access.
There are a variety of discovery plugins you can use to find open access resources. The Unpaywall browser plugin flags whether an open access version of an article is available direct from the article’s landing page and Open Access Button is a plugin (or web interface) that lets you search for a freely available version of a particular article.
Study space
There are plenty of spaces for individual around the Library, in quiet, social, and silent zones. The majority of spaces do not need to be booked, with the exception of the four Silent Study Booths. Read more about booking rooms here.
Need a resource that we don't have?
If you are unable to to find a resource in our library try our Inter-Library Loan or More Books services. Inter-library loan is preferable for items that are likely to be useful only to yourself, whereas More Books is preferable when a resource is likely to be useful to yourself and other of our library users.
Need Help?
Don't hesitate to ask for additional support if you need help. The easiest route to additional support is to book a one-to-one appointment (these can be online or in-person), which you can do here.