The term transformative agreement refers to a type of journal subscription model that includes both access (read) charges and publishing (publish) charges. These agreements are negotiated between journal publishers and JISC. They are also known as Read & Publish agreements.
Traditionally, articles written by academics at UK universities were sent - free of charge - to publishers. Publishers facilitated the peer review process, published the articles, and made them available via journal subscriptions. Universities could also choose to pay article processing charges (APCs) to publishers to make articles open access from the point of publication, as opposed to sitting behind paywalls. Transformative agreements are designed to shift the business model from subscription to open access, whilst still remunerating publishers for the open access publishing services they provide.
The University has transformative agreements with four publishers: SAGE Publishing, Wiley, Cambridge University Press, and Taylor & Francis.
No one transformative agreement is the same; some offer the chance to publish open access in all of the publisher's titles, whilst others only offer open access publication in 'hybrid' journals (journals that include a mixture of subscription and open access articles). Some also include clauses on the maximum number of articles covered by each agreement per year.
The tabs at the top of this page provide more information and user support for BGU researchers for each agreement.
The University Library is signed up to a transformative journals agreement with SAGE.
The University has access to the entire SAGE journals collection as part of this agreement.
Read about publishing in SAGE journals under the current agreement HERE. You may also find it useful to visit SAGE's Author Information pages.
The University Library is signed up to a transformative journals agreement with Wiley.
The University provides access to the entire Wiley journals collection as part of this agreement.
Read about publishing in Wiley journals under the current agreement HERE. You may also find it useful to visit Wiley's Author Resources pages.
The University Library is signed up to a transformative journals agreement with Cambridge University Press (CUP).
The University provides access to the entire CUP journals collection as part of this agreement.
Read about publishing in CUP journals under the current agreement HERE. You may also find it useful to visit CUP's Services for Authors pages.
The University Library is signed up to a transformative journals agreement with Taylor and Francis.
The University provides access to our existing Taylor and Francis collection as part of this agreement.
BGU are not currently supporting open access publishing via Taylor and Francis. For more information contact the Library.