The Teaching Resources Collection, or TRC, is one of the Library's special collections (for others see the Special Collections tab above) and we are proud to be able to say that it is one of the best of its kind in the country. Close to the Library entrance, the TRC is home to around 24,000 resources for primary and secondary trainee teachers, students intending to work (or already working) in educational settings, and students of children's literature. That said, all BGU students are welcome to make use of the facility and it is open all of the hours that the Library is open.
The space is split into two areas - teachers' resources on the left and children's resources on the right. The overall design is intended to facilitate browsing, quiet study and group discussion.
Please see the Children's Literature LibGuide or take a look at The Four Corners, a regular newsletter produced by TRC staff. It provides regular information about children's literature in the TRC.
Children's Resources: These include picture books, fiction and non-fiction books, big books (fiction and non-fiction), dual language books, feature films, audiobooks, resource packs, artefact boxes, novelty books, puppets, Storysacks® and journals. At its heart is an extensive collection of classic and contemporary children's literature. All major authors and illustrators are represented, demonstrating the development of children's literature over many decades. Though the emphasis is on British literature there is a good selection of American fiction, world fiction and books translated into English from other languages. Poetry books and fairy tales also feature.
Teachers' Resources: These support teachers and trainee teachers in developing lesson plans and teaching strategies to implement the National Curriculum. The collection includes National Curriculum documents, government reports, reading and phonic schemes, educational textbooks, teaching handbooks and lesson planning guides. All of the teachers' resources are for reference only, allowing students to compare and contrast different educational materials.
All materials in the TRC are searchable via WorldCat. By looking in the Location column in an item record you will see where the resource is kept and how long you can borrow it for. For example, children's novels have the location Main Library Teaching Resources Collection: Children's Resources - 12 Week Loan.
Teachers' resources are for reference only and are shelved using the same Dewey classification scheme used in the rest of the Library.
Most Children's resources can be borrowed for 12 weeks. Storysacks® cannot be borrowed. DVDs and artefact boxes can be borrowed for 3 weeks at a time. Most children's books have a green spine label. Teenage fiction books have a white spine label. Picture books have a yellow spine label. Children's resources are shelved using a simplified version of the Dewey Decimal classification scheme used in the rest of the Library.
All images ©Bishop Grosseteste University.