Skip to main content

Mathematics: Special Collections

A Library Services Subject Guide

The Teaching Resources Collection

Located close to the Library entrance, the Teaching Resources Collection (TRC) is home to around 24,000 resources for primary and secondary trainee teachers, students working or intending to work in educational settings, and students of children's literature, although all BGU students are welcome to make use of the space and resources.  The Collection has been developed over many decades and we are proud to be able to say that it is one of the best of its kind in the country. The space is split into two areas - teachers' resources on the left and children's resources on the right - with the overall design intended to facilitate browsing, quiet study and group discussion.

Our collection of Children's Resources include picture books, fiction and non-fiction books, big books (fiction and non-fiction), dual language books, feature films, audio books, resource packs, artefact boxes, novelty books, puppets, Storysacks® and journals. At its heart  is an extensive collection of classic and contemporary children's literature. All major authors and illustrators are represented, demonstrating the development of children's literature over many decades. Though the emphasis is on British literature there is a good selection of American fiction, world fiction and books translated into English from other languages. Poetry books and fairy tales also feature.

Our collection of Teachers' Resources supports teachers and trainee teachers in developing lesson plans and teaching strategies to implement the National Curriculum. The collection includes National Curriculum documents, government reports, reading and phonic schemes, educational textbooks, teaching handbooks and lesson planning guides. All of the teachers' resources are for reference only, allowing students to compare and contrast different educational materials.  

Gallery

The University Archive

Bishop Grosseteste University was founded in 1862 as a training college for school mistresses and at the time was known as Lincoln Diocesan Training College.  It was renamed Bishop Grosseteste College, after 13th-century Bishop of Lincoln Robert Grosseteste, in 1962 on the occasion of its centenary.  The name was changed again, to Bishop Grosseteste University College, in 2007 when the institution was granted degree-awarding powers, and more recently in 2012, to Bishop Grosseteste University, when the institution was granted University status.  

Records pertaining to BGU's long history are kept in the University Archive which is located within the Library and is maintained by  University Archivist & Records Manager, Guenever Moyes. Whilst Guenever welcomes visits and enquiries from BGU students, access to the Archive is by appointment only; contact Guenever to arrange a visit. 

Historical Maps

A selection of sheet maps is kept in the map cabinets on the ground floor adjacent to the University Archive.  The majority focus on Lincolnshire with a small selection covering neighbouring counties. Dates range from 1845 to 1998 and features include settlement, administrative boundaries, land use, geology and elevation.  Also located in the map cabinets is an almost complete collection of sheet maps of the reprints of the one-inch Ordnance Survey map of England and Wales, originally surveyed and printed in the mid to late nineteenth century.

Sheet maps are listed in the folder kept by the map cabinets.  They are not recorded on WorldCat.  All are for reference only and must not be removed from the Library.

A further selection of folded maps relating to Lincolnshire, including OS Explorer maps, are kept in the Lincolnshire Collection.  They are arranged by shelfmark and are integrated with the bookstock. These maps can be searched on WorldCat and the majority can be borrowed.

Image attribution

Planes: Spitfires and Hurricanes Flying in Formation Over Lincolnshire by The MInistry of Defence on Flickr under a CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 Creative Commons Licence.
Map: Image from page 566 of "The history of Great Britain : from the first invasion of it by the Romans under Julius Cæsar. Written on a new plan" (1789) by Internet Archive Book Images on Flickr; no known copyright restrictions.
Photographs of the University
©Bishop Grosseteste University.