Skip to main content

Mathematics: Databases & eBooks

A Library Services Subject Guide

Databases for Mathematics

Library Services provides access to multi-disciplinary databases that cover mathematics.  These include Academic Search Complete, ProQuest Central, Education Source, General OneFile, and SAGE Journals.   All databases integrate with WorldCat, meaning that their contents are interrogated by WorldCat when WorldCat performs a search.  This means that WorldCat results normally include physical resources held in the Library building as well as online resources contained within library databases. 

Some other databases, including Britannica Academic Edition and the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography sit outside WorldCat and must be accessed separately via our Databases A-Z page.  To find out which databases are and aren't integrated into WorldCat go to Databases A-Z, click on the All Database Types drop-down box and select either Searchable via WorldCat or Not Searchable via WorldCat.

eBooks for Mathematics

Library Services provides access to thousands of e-books via five main e-book platforms: MyiLibrary, Ebook Central, Taylor & Francis, EBSCOhost and Cambridge Companions.  All e-books are accessible via WorldCat; simply perform a search and e-books will show up in your results alongside printed books (look for the View Now buttons).  You can also browse e-books via WorldCat's Browse eJournals and eBooks function and access each of the e-book platforms separately, i.e. outside of WorldCat, via our Databases A-Z page. 

All of the e-books accessible via the MyiLibrary, Ebook Central and Taylor & Francis platforms, and some of those accessible via the EBSCOhost platform, have been individually selected by the Library team to supplement and complement our print collections.  The remainder are accessible as part of a subscription package; for example, the database Education Source includes not only journal articles but also a collection of education-related e-books.

Off Campus Access To Online Resources

Except for those marked campus only, most of the databases and all of the ebooks we provide access to are accessible off campus with a BGU username and password.  In the case of databases, it is important that you use the links from within these pages.  This is because the URLs incorporate a special prefix that prompts you to login with your BGU credentials.  Ebook links in WorldCat also include the prefix.

Gallery

Image attribution

Tablet: Tablet use 2 by ebayink on Flickr under a CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 Creative Commons Licence.
Fibre optics, binary and search results images from Microsoft Office ClipArt
.