Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Resources: Introduction

Everything you need to know about our online resources.

An Introduction to Online Resources

  • By 'online resources' we mean databases containing collections of documents, articles, images, and/or ebooks.
  • All of our online resources can be accessed from A-Z Databases. Many also integrate with the library catalogue, WorldCat, meaning your search results are likely to include a mixture of physical resources that you can borrow and online resources that you can read onscreen.
  • Access to online resources should be automatic when you are on campus. If you use WorldCat or A-Z Databases off-campus you will be prompted to login using your usual BGU credentials.
  • For any internet research you do at home we highly recommend you download LibKey Nomad (installation instructions are here). This browser extension displays an onscreen alert for any articles the Library provides access to, to save you having to check WorldCat separately. 
  • Our online resources include over 30,000 full-text journals.  For advice about how to search for and access journals and journal articles, see the Using Journals guide below.

WorldCat

The tab at the top of the page marked WorldCat opens in a new window.  WorldCat is our library catalogue and discovery tool and contains records of all the resources we provide access to, including books & ebooks, journals & ejournals, reports, DVDs and items from the Teaching Resources Collection like puppet bags, resource packs and artefact boxes. Online resources like ebooks and full text articles can be read onscreen via WorldCat.  To learn more about WorldCat click here.

eJournal / eBook Checker

The tab at the top of the page marked eJournal / eBook Checker opens in a new window.  It's a really useful feature of WorldCat that often gets overlooked, and we think it deserves more attention!  It's useful because it allows you to a) check if we have full-text access for a particular journal and b) browse and search all of our ebook collections at the same time.

A-Z Databases

The tab at the top of the page marked A-Z Databases contains a list of, and links to, all databases that the Library subscribes to, plus a number of open access databases (i.e. databases that are freely available to anyone).   You can filter databases by subject and type, and view which of our databases are searchable via WorldCat; simply click on the All Database Types drop-down box and select either Searchable via WorldCat or Not searchable via WorldCat. Clicking on the title of a database will open it in a new window.  

Recommended Websites

The tab at the top of the page marked Recommended Websites opens Diigo in a new window.  Diigo stands for Digest of Internet Information, Groups and Other stuff and is a social bookmarking tool we use to highlight and recommend useful websites (over 1,000 or them!).  The homepage displays the websites in the order they were added.  The easiest way to navigate is via the 'tags' - simply click on view all tags to see the full list.