Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sport: Special Collections

A Library Services Subject Guide

Gallery

A view of the TRC
Books on the TRC shelves
A toddler being shown a book in the TRC
The door into the TRC
The Show & Tell area

Image attribution

All images ©Bishop Grosseteste University.

The Teaching Resources Collection

Located close to the Library entrance, the Teaching Resources Collection (TRC) is home to around 24,000 resources for primary and secondary trainee teachers, students working or intending to work in educational settings, and students of children's literature, although all BGU students are welcome to make use of the space and resources.  The Collection has been developed over many decades and we are proud to be able to say that it is one of the best of its kind in the country. The space is split into two areas - teachers' resources on the left and children's resources on the right - with the overall design intended to facilitate browsing, quiet study and group discussion.

Our collection of Children's Resources include picture books, fiction and non-fiction books, big books (fiction and non-fiction), dual language books, feature films, audio books, resource packs, artefact boxes, novelty books, puppets, Storysacks® and journals. At its heart  is an extensive collection of classic and contemporary children's literature. All major authors and illustrators are represented, demonstrating the development of children's literature over many decades. Though the emphasis is on British literature there is a good selection of American fiction, world fiction and books translated into English from other languages. Poetry books and fairy tales also feature.

Our collection of Teachers' Resources supports teachers and trainee teachers in developing lesson plans and teaching strategies to implement the National Curriculum. The collection includes National Curriculum documents, government reports, reading and phonic schemes, educational textbooks, teaching handbooks and lesson planning guides. All of the teachers' resources are for reference only, allowing students to compare and contrast different educational materials.