Databases: Databases for Theology, Philosophy, Ethics & Religion include multi-disciplinary databases such as ProQuest Central, Academic Search Complete, Education Source, Humanities Source, Project MUSE, The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography and JSTOR, and publisher-specific databases like Cambridge Core, Taylor & Francis Journals, SAGE Premier and Wiley Online Library. All can be accessed individually from our A-Z Databases site, and some (mostly the multidisciplinary and publisher-specific resources) are automatically included in WorldCat searches.
Ebooks: The Library provides access to thousands of ebooks across multiple collections. All are accessible via WorldCat, or by collection using our A-Z Databases site (under the Database Type select eBooks). Two ebook collections particularly relevant to Theology, Philosophy, Ethics & Religion are Cambridge Companions and JISC Historical Texts. Both can be accessed via our A-Z Databases site. Cambridge Companions is searchable via WorldCat but JISC Historical Texts is not.
Websites: The Library uses the social bookmarking tool Diigo to recommend useful websites:
This is the link to our theology, philosophy and ethics recommendations
This is the link to our faith & religion recommendations
Images: If you are looking for copyright-compliant images to use in your assignments check out our advice.
Open access means an item is free to view (usually online) and there are no paywalls or subscription fees. An increasing number of open access resources are being made available to support academic study, including platforms such as Project Gutenberg (older books), the Directory of Open Access Books (contemporary books), CORE (research articles), the Directory of Open Access Journals (contemporary journals) and EThOS (theses).
All of these and more can be accessed from our A-Z Databases site (click on All Database Types and select Open Access).
Most databases and ebooks can be accessed off campus. However, in order for the various online platforms to recognise you as a BGU student, and prompt you to login with your BGU credentials, it is important to access them via WorldCat or A-Z Databases. If you don't do this, and instead use a search engine to try to access a database, you won't be recognised as a BGU student and may miss out on content you would otherwise be entitled to view.
If you are looking for journal articles, one way to avoid this is to install the LibKey Nomad browser extension (installation instructions are here). Once installed, if you are off-campus and using search engines to look for articles it will display an onscreen alert - like the one below - if you have access to a particular article.