The Lincolnshire Collection of approximately 4,000 items is on the first floor of the Library and covers the county's history, archaeology, flora and fauna, geology, trade and industry, language, heritage and architecture. It also incorporates publications of the Lincoln Record Society including wills; diocesan documents and diaries; directories and village histories; the books and papers of Tom Baker (1911-1998), former Lincoln City Librarian and noted local historian; and the library of the Society for Lincolnshire History and Archaeology which was donated to the University in 2013.
The Lincolnshire Collection incorporates loan and reference books. A small number of items are kept in a closed access store due to their fragility. All items in the Collection are searchable via WorldCat.
Planes: Spitfires and Hurricanes Flying in Formation Over Lincolnshire by The MInistry of Defence on Flickr under a CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 Creative Commons Licence.
Map: Image from page 566 of "The history of Great Britain : from the first invasion of it by the Romans under Julius Cæsar. Written on a new plan" (1789) by Internet Archive Book Images on Flickr; no known copyright restrictions.
Photographs of the University ©Bishop Grosseteste University.
LMPT Archive logo courtesy of the Lincolnshire Mystery Plays Trust.
A selection of sheet maps is kept in the map cabinets on the ground floor adjacent to the University Archive. The majority focus on Lincolnshire with a small selection covering neighbouring counties. Dates range from 1845 to 1998 and features include settlement, administrative boundaries, land use, geology and elevation. Also located in the map cabinets is an almost complete collection of sheet maps of the reprints of the one-inch Ordnance Survey map of England and Wales, originally surveyed and printed in the mid to late nineteenth century.
Sheet maps are listed in the folder kept by the map cabinets. They are not recorded on WorldCat. All are for reference only and must not be removed from the Library.
A further selection of folded maps relating to Lincolnshire, including OS Explorer maps, are kept in the Lincolnshire Collection. They are arranged by shelfmark and are integrated with the bookstock. These maps can be searched on WorldCat and the majority can be borrowed.