Skip to main content

Online Resources: Introduction

Everything you need to know about our online resources.

This LibGuide provides an introduction and overview to the online resources provided by BGU Library. The boxes further down the page provide information about each of the above tabs, but, before you get to those, the four most important things you need to know to get started are....

HOW TO ACCESS ONLINE RESOURCES: All of the online resources we provide access to are listed and can be accessed from our Databases A-Z site.

USING ONLINE RESOURCES OFF CAMPUS: Except for a small number marked campus only, all of our online resources can be used off campus with your usual BGU login credentials (the same ones you use for Blackboard).  NB. It is very important to only use the links found here in LibGuides, on our Databases A-Z site, or in WorldCat as they include a special prefix that identifies you as a BGU student.

ONLINE RESOURCES AND WORLDCAT*: Many of our journal databases and ebook databases integrate with WorldCat. This means that when you perform a search in WorldCat your results will contain not only physical resources held in the Library building but online articles and ebooks as well, many of which you can open and read onscreen.  To find out which resources do and don't integrate with WorldCat go to Databases A-Z, click on the All Database Types drop-down box and select either Searchable via WorldCat or Not Searchable via WorldCat.

USING JOURNALS: Our online resources provide you with access to over 30,000 full-text journals.  For advice about how to search for and access journals and journal articles, click on the Using Journals link below.

The WorldCat tab

The tab marked WorldCat opens WorldCat in a new window.  WorldCat is our library catalogue and discovery tool and contains records of all the resources we provide access to, including books & ebooks, journals & ejournals, reports, DVDs and different types of materials housed in the Teaching Resources Collection like puppet bags, resource packs and artefact boxes. Online resources like ebooks and full text articles can be read onscreen via WorldCat.  See below for more about logging into online resources when off campus. To learn more about WorldCat click here.

The Browse eJournals and eBooks tab

The tab marked Browse eJournals and eBooks opens in a new window.  It's a really useful feature of WorldCat that often gets overlooked because it's hidden under the BGU drop-down menu at the top of the WorldCat homepage, and we think it deserves more attention!  It's useful because it allows you to a) check if we have full-text access for a particular journal and b) browse and search all of our ebook collections at the same time.

The Databases A-Z tab

The tab marked Databases A-Z contains a list of, and links to, all of the databases that the Library subscribes to, plus a small number of open access databases (i.e. freely available to anyone).   You can filter databases by subject and type, and view which of our databases are searchable via WorldCat; simply click on the All Database Types drop-down box and select either Searchable via WorldCat or Not searchable via WorldCat. Clicking on the title of a database will open it in a new window.  

The Recommended Websites tab

The tab marked Recommended Websites opens Diigo in a new window.  Diigo stands for Digest of Internet Information, Groups and Other stuff and is a social bookmarking tool we use to highlight and recommend useful websites (over 1,000 or them!).  The homepage displays the websites in the order they were added.  The easiest way to navigate is via the 'tags' - simply click on view all tags to see the full list.