Skip to main content

LibGuides: Covid-19 and changes to Library Services

The Library and 24/7 IT Suite are closed until further notice. This page was last updated at 10:04 on Monday 22 June 2020.

Service provision whilst the Library is closed

Borrowing/Returns: You are permitted to return loans using the external 'library returns' box but the Library itself is still closed to students. If you are in a car, please do not drive onto campus.  Instead, park on Newport and walk onto campus via the pedestrian path between the Chapel and the Library. At the end of the path turn right, and you'll find the library returns box built into the wall on the right, underneath the covered walkway.  Loans returned this way will remain on your account until they are processed by library staff after a 72 hour quarantine period. Regardless of when that happens, you won't be charged any fines for the lockdown period.

Books already on loan to you should be renewed to Friday 2nd October. You can check this by logging into your library accountThe date of Friday 2nd October was chosen in order to prevent you having to make a special trip to return books during lockdown, and also to prevent the accrual of library fines during this period.  We are currently reviewing options to allow returning students to be able to start borrowing again. Updated 22/6/20.

Help & contact info: You can contact us during normal office hours (Monday to Thursday 8.30am-5pm, Friday 8.30am-4.30pm) via email library@bishopg.ac.uk or LibChat (available from the LibGuides homepage).  Please do not call the main library phone number as it will not be answered. You can still book 1-to-1 appointments, but we will run these remotely using Blackboard Collaborate or other methods.  For more information see our Make a Booking page.

Holds/reservations, postal loans, inter-library loans, scanning, SCONUL Access: All of these services are suspended until further notice. 

Updates: We will post service updates on Twitter & Facebook, and via this page, and there is a link to this page from our Blackboard site. 

Access to resources whilst the Library is closed

Existing online resources: All of the Library’s standard online resources - thousands of ebooks, millions of journal articles, and other type of resources - remain available via WorldCat and our A-Z Databases site. Find out more about these here.  

Additional online resources: A number of academic publishers have been generous in allowing free access to some of their collections (ebooks, journals and other resources) until the end of June.  You can view and access them here, or you can go to our A-Z Databases site click on Database Type and choose Temporary Access Databases.  These collections cannot be searched via WorldCat - you have to access each one individually. 

Print books in the Library:  These are not available whilst the Library is closed. However, if you find a book on WorldCat that you really need, the library team can check for you to see if an ebook version is available. To request this, use the form on the LibGuides homepage.  

Journal articles the Library doesn't provide access to: These would normally be available via inter-library loan but such services are currently very limited.  The library team can however check for you to see if an inter-library loan is available, or if the article is available by any other means. To request this, use the form on the LibGuides homepage. No fees are payable for for inter-library services during the closure period.

Open Access resources (free to all): For a list of open access resources - ebooks, journals, articles and images - click here, or go to our A-Z Databases site, click on Database Type and choose Open Access

If you encounter any difficulties accessing online resources please contact us at library@bishopg.ac.uk.