The most frequently-used databases
This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary resource of over 11,000 peer-reviewed journals, more than 8,000 of which are full text.
This link opens in a new windowThe full text of the majority of (multidisciplinary) journals published by Cambridge University Press, many accessible from 1997, or Volume 1 if published later. The Cambridge Companions database can also be searched and accessed from this platform.
This link opens in a new windowThe full text of over 1,900 education journals and 550 ebooks. Also contains conference papers and indexing and abstracts for 3,500 journals. Also covers subject teaching.
This link opens in a new windowSearch across all of our (multidisciplinary) Gale databases at once. They are separately listed in this A-Z list as well.
This link opens in a new windowFull text of over 1500 journals in the field of humanities and indexing for over 3000 journals in total.
This link opens in a new windowStatistics and resources on a wide range of PSHE subjects, including rights and discrimination, drugs and alcohol abuse, family and relationships, the environment, the media and many more. You may need to click on the 'Login' button in top right of the screen (but won't be required to enter any credentials).
This link opens in a new windowA digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources across the arts and humanities.
This link opens in a new windowFull-text current and archival articles from 600+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering art, drama, literature, education, history, music, theology and more.
This link opens in a new windowA large multidisciplinary journals database: millions of articles from thousands of titles and over 160 subject areas covered.
This link opens in a new windowOver 670 full text journals in the social sciences, humanities, and life sciences from 1999 to the present.
This link opens in a new windowOver 120,000 e-books across all subject areas. **Links to individual chapters in this collection do not work; please use the 'Read Online' link instead. If there is no Read Online link please report it to library@bishopg.ac.uk**
This link opens in a new windowOver 1000 full text journals in the social sciences and humanities from 1997 to the present.
This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to approximately 1,500 multidisciplinary John Wiley & Sons' journals, from 1997 to the present.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Over 1000 programmes from the BBC’s archive of literary adaptations, performances and critiques. Includes an A-Z list of featured authors. You need to register (which is free) to gain access to the content.
New! Access to a large collection of Oxford Handbooks across the following seven subjects: Archaeology, Business & Management, Psychology, History, Linguistics, Music, Sociology
New! A dynamic, peer-reviewed digital encyclopedia continuously updated by world-leading scholars and researchers in the field of education.
WorldCat is our library catalogue and discovery tool. It allows you to search across all BGU library holdings at the same time, including the physical resources held in the Library and many of the databases we provide access to. You can also use it to search the collections of other libraries that use WorldCat.
For printed resources, WorldCat shows how many copies we have and where to look for them. Online materials can be immediately opened and viewed onscreen.
You also use WorldCat to login and monitor your library account, renew loans and place and monitor holds. Additional features include the ability to create lists of and add tags to resources.
If you regularly study off-campus, or use search tools like Google Scholar, we highly recommend that you download LibKey Nomad (click here for installation instructions). LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that displays an onscreen alert when you find an article that the Library provides access to, thus removing the need to separately check WorldCat.
