Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Library and Covid-19: Service Availability

The Library is open and offering Click & Collect, Browse & Borrow and Study space bookings. For opening hours click here.

We have a one-way system in place, as well as hand-santiser stations throughout the Library. Regular cleaning takes place and returned loans are quarantined for 72 hours. Unless you are exempt, you are currently required to wear a face covering at all times whilst in the Library.

The information on this page was last updated at 08:55 on Thursday 4 March 2021.

Borrowing and returning loans

To borrow resources either use our Browse & Borrow service, or request items for collection via WorldCat using the Request Item buttons (aka Click & Collect). To find out more see our Make a Booking page.

If you are a final year undergraduate on a 3-year, 2-year or 1-year undergraduate degree, including Foundation Degrees and Progression Routes, we are currently offering a postal loan service to support you as you write your dissertation or final project. For more about this go to our Requesting Resources page and look for the relevant box, about halfway down the page on the right. 

One week loans and standard (3 week) loans currently have a fixed return date of Friday 25 June 2021 (or later for items with longer loan periods, like 12-week loans from the Teaching Resources Collection). Please check your loans and their due dates by logging into your library account via WorldCat and contact us at library@bishopg.ac.uk if you have any questions or queries

To ask if a book is available as an ebook, please email usTo suggest a book for purchase submit a More Books request. 

Return loans by placing them in the returns boxes in the building foyer, or outside in the returns box in the wall of the Library building (at the end of the covered walkway). Returned loans are checked-in by the library team within 24 hours but remain in quarantine for 72 hours. If you return an item on its due date but we do not check it in until the following day you will not be charged a fine. Fines are not currently being charged. Pre-existing fines, accrued before the first lockdown, still stand.

Inter-library loan and document supply

Journal articles and book chapters can currently be requested via inter-library loan but printed books currently cannot.  With articles and chapters, success will depend on an electronic version of the item being available at a supplying library.  In such cases the item will usually be sent to your BGU email address.  To place an inter-library loan of find out more about the service click here. We are not currently charging for inter-library loan services but annual quotas continue to apply.  

Using the Library in person

You may book to use a study space in the Library (30 minute minimum).  You can also book a 45 minute slot to 'Browse & Borrow'.  Anyone with a study space or browse & borrow booking can access the bookshelves and use self-service machines and copiers and/or printers. To find out more see our Make a Booking page. 

Help and support

The best way to contact us is via email at library@bishopg.ac.uk or via our live chat service, LibChat (see the LibGuides homepage).  1-to-1 appointments are available online using Blackboard Collaborate or other methods.  For more information see our Make a Booking page.

Electronic resources

Access to our physical collections may be limited at present, but we still provide access to vast range of electronic resources, including thousands of ebooks, millions of journal articles, and many other types of databases.  All are accessible via WorldCat and our A-Z Databases site (you can find out more about these here).  You can also browse the vast majority of our journals collection via BrowZine (new for the 20/21 academic year).

For a list of open access resources (ebooks, journals, articles, images) click here, or go to our A-Z Databases site, click on Database Type and select Open Access

Restricted access to the BGU community only

At present, the Library building and the services outlined on this page are open/available only to the BGU community, i.e. enrolled students and members of staff with a current contract.  Regrettably, the Library is not open to external borrowers, SCONUL Access members, visitors, or members of the public.